top of page


The Trustees of the St John's College Trust Board are appointed in accordance with its Trust Deed by the General Synod/Te Hinota Whanui of the Anglican Church of Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia.

sue ford.png

Sue is an experienced lawyer and has practised in Palmerston North since 1995. Sue sits on a number of charitable Trust Boards and currently holds the position of Deputy Chancellor of the Anglican Diocese of Wellington.

joseph hala.png

Since 2011 Joe has worked for the New Zealand Superannuation Fund as Portfolio Manager. Prior to this Joe worked for Goldman Sachs JBWere as an Associate Director in the Investment Banking Division.

don rangi.png

Don Rangi joined the Board in 2016 after an extensive career working for the New Zealand Treasury.  Don is a trustee of the Anglican Church Pension Board, Chaplain to the Capital Coast District Health Board and is trustee of a number of charitable Trusts in the Upoko o te Ika region.

phillip r.png

Philip is Archbishop of the New Zealand Dioceses and the Bishop of Waikato and Taranaki.  Archbishop Philip is actively involved in a large number of governance roles within and associated with the Church including the Te Aute Trust Board, Waikato Board of Diocesan Schools, St Mary's School and the Bishop's Action Foundation.

Mele Taliai is a Tongan New Zealander lawyer who is also involved in a wide range of health, legal and Pacific Island advocacy work.

don tami.png

Pihopa Don is the Archbishop of Aotearoa and Bishop of Te Hui Amorangi ki Te Tairawhiti.  Archbishop Don sits on a number of governance boards within and external to the Church, including the Te Aute Trust Board.


Fe'i is a member of the General Synod Standing Committee of the Anglican Church in Aotearoa, New Zealand and Polynesia and a number of Committees of the Diocese of Polynesia.

Carolyn Pic[1]_edited.jpg

Carolyn is Vicar of All Saints, Burwood in Christchurch and is Chair of the Loose Scholarship Committee, a Member of the Reference Group for Diocesan Regeneration and Mission, Christchurch Diocese and a Member of General Synod representing the Diocese of Christchurch.


Maui Tangohau had a long career as a Regional Manager for the Maori Trustee and is now involved in the governance of a number of community and charitable trusts within Tairawhiti including Te Aitanga-a-Hauiti Centre of Excellence Trust and the Te Whanau A Taupara Trust, Tairawhiti Cultural Development Trust.  Maui is also presently a Trustee of the Te Aute Trust Board and Trustee of the Te Hui Amorangi Ki Te Tairawhiti Trust Board.

Grant JUL2022.jpeg

Grant Hope

Grant has worked with the Trust since 2002 and held the role of the Trust's CEO/Secretary since 2005.  Grant has had a long career in the finance industry including twelve years as CEO of Trust Investments Management Limited.  

In 2022, wishing to have a more intentional focus on the delivery of the Trust's purpose, Grant accepted a role working directly with the Trust and continues to strive to provide advice and assistance to Trustees and beneficiaries for the betterment of the Trust and its purpose

bottom of page